honda305.com Forum

Login
□ Search
□ FAQ 
□ 
Vintage Honda Owners,
Restorers, Riders and
Admirers

motors out and on bench..'65 cl77..rebuild? or run it?!

junk726
honda305.com Member

motors out and on bench..'65 cl77..rebuild? or run it?!

Post by junk726 » Tue Oct 30, 2012 5:25 pm

ok..so here's a dumb question for u guys..(MANY to come).but i am wondering how entailed or "difficulties" i may encounter IF i were to just tackle a complete rebuild..(PO said the shifting was "hard" and i had it running and ran fine..just i am new to the shifting on these and yes..seemed a little hard right around 3rd gear..up into and down..? anyways...seeing as it's already pulled out and i am tackling the resto..i do not fear the mechanical aspect to the job (i am a MMI graduate of Honda and yamaha)..labor doesn't scare me..it is the possibilties of parts availability..? ANY input as to anything i will come across that may be impossible to find (i dont want to have to be stuck battling on ebay and have a motor half torn down!) i KNOW no one has a crystal ball and anything could come up..but i am just leaning on you pros here for any advice...maybe approximate cost assuming piston/cylinders are ok..? best place to get good gasket kits/oil seals, etc..? any known common problems anyone who does this rebuild runs across..and what to watch out for..?